top of page
  • Writer's pictureShelby

The Process I Go Through When Creating a Conceptual Photo Shoot:

Part One: Becoming a Poet


The idea of the executing a conceptual photo shoot might seem daunting at first. At least it was for me. When I started to create conceptual work, I found the entire process to be quite overwhelming. I had no idea where to start, let alone the steps I needed to take to get to the final image. After many trials and errors, I was able to come up with a system that got me from point A to point E. This type of art is not a one step process where you show up, take the images, and you are done. Conceptual art takes time, it takes planning. But all the work you put in to developing your concept, the stronger the final image will be.
I use a five-step system that helps me to completely plan out and expand upon my own conceptual ideas. To help you develop your own concepts, I’m going to take you step by step and work alongside of you, so I can show you how easy it to can be to create a conceptual phot shoot from beginning to end.
In this series, you are going to learn how to go from coming up with a concept to applying the finishing touches to your final image. So, let’s get started with the first step. Coming up with a concept. This will either be one of the easiest steps throughout the entire process or one of the hardest depending on how well you can naturally come up with the concept ideas.



Find Your Inner Poet


Whether you are good at thinking up concepts or it is a struggle for you, the easiest way to open up your mind is to harness your inner poet. This might seem completely unrelated when we are talking about photography, but I want to consider this. Poetry and photography are similar in that they both provide an explanation to the world we live in. The only difference is one does so with words and the other does it with light. I understand the idea of writing poetry sounds daunting and maybe slightly uncomfortable. But keep in mind, this is just for you. No one else every has to see the words. I think as photographers, we sometimes get into this mindset that any piece of work that we produce has to be amazing so when we venture outside of our comfort zone and try an art style that we feel we aren’t good at. It can deter us from wanting to keep with it. I’m going to say this again, whatever poetry you write, whether is good or bad, is only for you. No one else.


The easiest way to get started writing poetry is to write about something that is personal to you. Start by ask yourself these questions:

  1. What is going on in your life?

  2. what is something that you have been struggling with?

  3. What is something that you are passionate about?

  4. What is something you despise?

  5. Are there any social movements that you support?

As I stated in the beginning, I’m going to be designing a concept, just for this series, right alongside of you. As you are thinking about how you are going to answers these questions. I have my responses down below. An important thing to remember is, when answering these questions don’t stress about it. If you can’t think of an answer right away, then leave it blank. No one’s going to know anyway.


  1. Right now, I have started working on the finals for my college classes.

  2. I have been struggling with dealing with the stress from four large, very time-consuming finals.

  3. I am really passionate about

  4. I really hate the way that I am shamed for being myself by my family.

  5. I am a string advocate for mental health awareness.

Now that you have your answers. It is time to start writing down the thoughts that came to mind while you were answering those five questions. It is important that you don’t rush through this step just to get to the next one. This is going to be the foundations of your concept, spend time with your thoughts.

After days of trying to find the words, the poem down below is what ended up being the emotion that that came from thinking over the answers that I gave. The poem is not perfect. There’s no rhythm or pattern. It’s not technically good by any means. But it’s not meant to be. I will say this again. The words you write and the poems you create are for you, and you alone.


“Where do you go when you have no more strength to carry your demons? Where do you go when the tears start rolling down and there’s nothing you can do to stop them?
Where do you go when the anger inside becomes too much to restrain and the silent screams are the only release?
Where do you go when your shattered soul craves to see something else broken by your hands so it doesn’t feel like it’s the only one that can never be put back together? Where do you go when the world around you becomes so overwhelming you desire nothing else but to escape from reality. “


Find Inspiration From Poets


Now if writing poetry is really not working for you. You can’t seem to get the words out or you’re being your own worst critique about the pieces you’re writing. Try reading poetry. When started trying to write, it can be a challenge to find the right words that I was looking for. So, I looked to actually poets, who know how to sculpt images with their words, and I found the a few writers who were very inspiring for me. My personal favorite being Nikita Gill. Find someone who resonates with you, who seems to be speaking the words you are trying to say.


Once you have found an author that you connect with and have found poems that speak to you. Find a way to save them, so you can look back at them later. Now days it is really easy to take a screenshot of a poem you found, save it to your phone, put it into an ideas folder and be able to reference back to it when you need inspiration for a conceptual photo shoot.


To take it a step further, highlight the part(s) that you drew the most inspiration from. Circle words or phrases that that put pictures in your head. Write quick notes on the image about what captivated you about this poem.


What I am getting at, is for you to take the few extra seconds and record what exactly about this poem sparked your creativity. That way when you go back last you can see where your mind was at when you originally saved it.



Take Your Poetic Inspiration and Turn It Into Your Concept


This is it, the last part of step one! You are almost done. Now it’s time to write out our concept. Your concept right now is not set into stone. It can be changed and altered as we go through the next four steps. So, don’t worry about getting it perfect at this point. This is just the starting block that we will be building on.


Going back to my poem. In every line I talk about finding a place. About finding a place that feels safe to let out emotions that have been bottled up. And right there, that is my concept. When looking at the poem you are using as inspiration, don’t over analysis what it is saying. There was a reason you were drawn to that piece. Use that part to construct you concept idea. Keep it simple.



Make It Your Own


You made it through this first step! You now have a base concept ready to go. The last thing that I want to leave you with is this: finding inspiration for your concept does not have to come from poetry if it just isn’t for you. I used poetry as an example because that’s where I find the majority of my inspiration. You might find your inspiration in song lyrics, paintings, books, or other photographers. It really doesn’t matter where you are drawing your inspiration from the steps will still be the same. One, harness you inner … Two, find inspiration from other … Lastly, take that inspiration and turn it into a concept.



1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page