top of page
  • Writer's pictureShelby

The Struggles I Have With Executive Functions: Part 1



Having ADHD, in general, makes it much harder to get a task fully accomplished. There are normally so many trains of thought going through our minds, that it becomes hard to concentrate on the task at hand and we end up bouncing between tasks without actually finishing any of those tasks. To put it simply, people with ADHD often struggle with seemingly mundane tasks, mostly due to executive dysfunction - the inability to perform the skills needed to learn, work, live, and function on a daily basis. As a photographer, this makes the process of a photoshoot, from planning to execution to delivery, a very difficult process to get all the way through.


Individuals who are neurodivergent have a hard time with executive functioning skills which include flexible thinking, a working memory, self-monitoring, planning and prioritizing, initiating tasks, organization, impulse control, and emotional control. All of the skills are crucial for photographers to have so that they are able to develop a strong and consistent working flow. As someone who has ADHD, I am constantly struggling with at least two of these skills at any given point during my creative process. On bad brain days, I will be fighting to get a grasp on all of these skills at one time just so I am able to get through one task.


Flexible Thinking


Flexible thinking is the ability to think about something in different ways, adjust to new situations, learn from mistakes, cope with routine change, try new things, switch from one task to another, and learn new things. This functioning skill is actually one of the easier ones for me, especially in regards to how I operate as a photographer. This skill is quite unique for me because the autistic side of my brain counteracts the executive dysfunction part associated with learning, surrounding the topic of photography, which is one of my special interests. So, I love learning about all the different parts of photography, trying new methods of photographing, and wanting to dissect my previous work so that I can grow as a photographer. And, because there are so many branches within and art styles closely related to photography, the ADHD part of my brain is able to jump from one hyper fixation to the next, and not have to stray away from the art of photography itself. Now, this is only centered around photography. When I am in a class that I am not interested in, I am not able to retain any of the information, or it takes a while for me to get it.

Anyway, the only part of flexible thinking that I struggle with, as a photographer, is switching from one task to another. This is an area where everything can become derailed, very quickly! If the task that I have to do next is not in my line of slight of the task that I just finished, there is a possibility that I will not even make it to that task. The farther away it is, the more likely I am to get distracted by something else that "needs to be done" on the way there.

If you are like me and struggle with going from one thing to another, this is going to sound too simple. But, limit the area where you are doing your work for that day. For me, I am able to get more tasks done if I line up all the materials I am going to need from the starting task to the finishing task. I also find that sprawling out on the floor is about the best way for me to do this because I have access to so much more room, compared to a desk where everything might not fit.


Working Memory


Someone's working memory is defined by their ability to follow directions, pay attention, and use relevant information in the middle of an activity. This skill is a challenge for me because I simply have no working memory, I am not able to do many parts of this skill, or do them the way their "supposed" to be done.

I find that I tiptoe the line of following directions in regards to photo-based work or homework assignments. I will follow the directions on how to complete homework, but oftentimes I struggle with reading between the line to gain the nuance of what is being required for that piece. So most of my work never seems to be executed in the way the professor was expecting it to be done. This would honestly really bother me, and sometimes still does when I receive negative feedback based on the way I carried out the assignment.

When it comes to maintaining focus and reflecting information back, such as during a conversation, this is when my working memory certainly fails me. The primary reason why individuals with ADHD have such a poor working memory is not that we have an awful memory, but rather the activity in our brain is at a much higher volume than neurotypical people. Making it harder to sort through all the thoughts while maintaining active attention to what is going on in front of us. The shift of focus inward is attributed to the loss of interest in the current interaction between you and what you should be paying attention to.

The best advice I was given to help maintain outward focus is to introduce a second sense other than what is being required for the primary task that needs your attention. For people who have ADHD, doing two things at once actually allows our brain to focus on what we should be focusing on. The switch from in-person classes to mostly online, due to the pandemic, has made it a lot harder for me to pay any attention during class because there was no social consequence for not maintaining attention, making it easier to loos that attention completely. I found that writing, working on editing, or putting together an art piece brought my mind back to what was going on, during online classes. When it comes to doing stuff like homework, I have to have a t,v, show, podcast, movie, or something similar to that to actually allow me to focus on the work. I distinctly remember, since the first grade, having to always have the t.v. on to do homework. I just never knew it was genuinely a subconscious way for me to focus.


6 views0 comments
bottom of page